Search this blog

Saturday, May 31, 2014

Stacking the Shelves (23)

Good morning everyone. It's been a while since my last Stacking the Shelves post, but I have many new books  I hope you all had wonderful weeks and are enjoying yourselves and the bookish thing that you received.
Love your faces <3

Reviews and Updates:
  


For Review:
   
*Thank you to Dinsey-Hyperiod, HarperTEEN, Macmillan Children's Publishing Group, Simon Pulse,  for everything this week*

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday (48): Salt & Storm


Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper
Publication Date: September 23, 2014


Sixteen-year-old Avery Roe wants only to take her rightful place as the witch of Prince Island, making the charms that keep the island’s whale men safe and prosperous at sea. But before she could learn how to control her power, her mother, the first Roe woman in centuries to turn her back on magic, stole Avery away from her grandmother. Avery must escape from her mother before her grandmother dies, taking with her the secrets of the Roes’ power. When Avery awakens from a dream foretelling her own murder, she realizes time is running short—for her and for the people of her island, who, without the Roes, will lose their ships and the only life they know.With the help of Tane, a tattooed harpoon boy from the Pacific Islands, Avery plots her escape from her mother and unravels the mysteries of her mother’s and grandmother’s pasts. Becoming a witch may prevent her murder and save her island from ruin, but Avery discovers it will also require a sacrifice she never expected—one she might not be able to make.
What a gorgeous color that cover has. I don't know what it is about deep purple covers, but they are just making me want to read them nowadays. And tattooed harpoon boys sound like my kind of novel ;)

What are you waiting on this Wednesday? 

Monday, May 26, 2014

Review: What's Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Publication Date: September 18, 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins
Series: The Hybrid Chronicles #1
Young Adult
Pages: 343
Genre: Science Fiction


I should not exist. But I do.

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.
*This novel was borrowed from my library*


I had been dying to read this book for months before and after the novel came out. Sadly, I had gotten busy with school and work and hadn't really had much time to read. When I did have time to read I was making the best to carve my way out of the review maze I had set myself in. There are so many books in the world and 24 hours in a day does not do justice. So summer rolled by, I finally drove myself to the library and I, after many, many years and being of the legal age of 18, got myself a library card.

The Hybrid Chronicles cover is absolutely stunning. Before I even read the premise, I wanted to read this book. Because that is the lusty cover lover within me, just oogoling over the design and not caring what the actual novel was about. And then I actually sat down and read the synopsis given. The premise is so utterly original that I was chewing my nails down to the nubs for this book to finally hit shelves when there was no chance I was going to get my hands on an ARC. Addie and Eva are two souls who share the same body. One dominant; one recessive. Eva shouldn't exist since she was considered the recessive soul. But she remains aware and dormant while Addie walks, talks, makes friends, goes to school, eats, spends time with the family. Everything. Yet Eva wants a chance to reactivate herself, be the dominant one, the one holding the reigns. Only, Addie is the only one who is supposed to exist. And being known as a hybrid is dangerous.

I happened to really love the scientific evolution that transcends the novel, how the recessive ultimately trains to become the dominant. The flip-flopping destroys the idea of who is dominant and who is recessive between Eva and Addie to the point if they can both be co-dominant in this one vessel. I absolutely enjoy the symbiotic relationship between the two girls, it makes reading about it so much more pleasing, especially because I have to root for the both of them, even though their world only let's one survive. Talk about an internal Hunger Games. But, what if that was how life actually was?

Getting to the grit of the novel. The sympathy for Eva, living inside the head of the body her and Addie share, while Addie is the one calling the shots, one cannot help but feel for her character and even root for her to fight on throughout the novel as she struggles to remain present within the body the two girls share. The story reads quick while still giving the characters a chance to grow and the plot a nice arc. I can't say that character development was stunted for plot progression, both worked hand in hand and made What's Left of Me a fantastic novel.

Final Summation: If you're looking for a break from the Hunger Games, Divergent, dystopian trope than you have come to the right book. Two great characters bundled into one body and a story that keeps getting better, I highly recommend this novel to you, your friends, your mom's friends, anyone. The cover is not just a tantalizing treat, I kid you not. The cover physically expresses the beauty of this novel.


First Line: Addie and I were born into the same body, our souls' ghostly fingers entwined before we gasped our very first breath.
Story: S
Cover: XS

Friday, May 16, 2014

Blog Tour + Giveaway: Rebel (Reboot #2) by Amy Tintera


Publication Date: May 13, 2014
Series: Reboot #2
Young Adult
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: Science Fiction, Post-apocalyptic, Romance
AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE GOODREADS


The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can't-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.
After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn't what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren's instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he's underestimated Wren and Callum.
The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.
*An Advanced Reader's Copy was provided by the tour host for an honest review*

After having read Reboot, Rebel definitely keeps the action going and the romance between Wren and Callum get hotter than ever in this sequel. After finally getting out HARC and on the way to a refugee camp for Reboots, Wren and Callum think things are going to be easier from here on out--until they meet Micah, the leader of the pack. From the get-go, Micah is walking on a strange line between The Governor from the Walking Dead and a cult-ish, don't-drink-the-Cool-Aid kinda leader making everyone have reboot babies and all that jazz. And what Wren thinks of as the worst, is far from what Micah is up to.

After reading textbook after textbook this semester at college and being up to my eyeballs in classical literature, getting back into Young Adult reading and book blogging is a breath of fresh air. I just finished my last final (Good bye, English Literature II!) and now it is Young Adult novels for the rest of the summer. And having Rebel as my transition back into the universe of YA, and I definitely say that I was not disappointed one bit. I

Though the dual perspectives between Callum and Wren was not tickling my fancy this time around, possibly because I found Wren's story much more exciting and anticipating than Callum's, it's use in the book definitely keeps the novel at a good pace and has it explode towards the end, in a good way!

The writing style was contingent with how it had been in the previous novel, but, and I don't meant to hate on Callum, but the preception of his character just made me not want to read his parts. It might be because of his quirky awkward personality or his corny dialogue that made me cringe a bit whenever he spoke, or maybe Callum and I are not meant to be. But Wren though, Wren definitely kept my interest through to the end. And especially with that ending, I'm not really sure where Tintera is going to go with a third book, if she does go into a third book, she has to with that ending though. But what more can there be? Will there be a reboot baby between Wren and Callum? Is this going to be a Twilight-esque thing now? Well, anyway, bring on the third book Ms. Tintera, because I want to know more!

Story: S
Cover: S

Hi! I’m Amy Tintera, and I write novels for young adults. I grew up in Austin, Texas and graduated from Texas A&M University with a degree in journalism. After receiving a masters in film at Emerson College I moved to Los Angeles, where I promptly discovered I didn’t enjoy working in the film industry, and went back to my first love, writing.REBOOT and REBEL are published by HarperCollins/HarperTeen. Film rights have been optioned by Fox, and the books have sold in ten countriesTWITTER | FACEBOOK | WEBSITE
GIVEAWAY
One lucky winner will get a one of a kind, annotated copy of REBEL by Amy Tintera. This means a copy full of hand written notes and extra fun info will be all yours!
Ships in US only – Must be 13+ to Enter