Search this blog

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (76): Made You Up


Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
Release Date: May 19, 2015https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17661416-made-you-up
eality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook, and Liar.
        Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. 
      Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up.


Usually, I'm pretty wary of books involving a character with a mental illness, because usually it's either
a) offensive,
b) alientating or impossible to understand,
c) all of the above
However, this book sounds fairly promising and hopeful.  It doesn't look like Alex's illness is going some weird point in the book that the writer and narrator treat as a dark mark, making the entire book doom and gloom, nor does it sound like it's not going to taken seriously at points.  I'm very hopeful this book will be as funny and real as the summary make it sound, and I'm pretty excited about it coming out in May.