Search this blog

Friday, March 25, 2016

Blog Tour Interview & Giveaway: Dark Energy by Robison Wells


Dark Energy by Robison Wells
Publication Date: March 29, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
A Young Adult novel
Pages: 288
Genre: Science Fiction
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks

We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout.
Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out.
If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed. 
Interview with the author
Storybook Slayers: How long did it take you to write Dark Energy?
Robison Wells: The initial draft was very quick. I write highly detailed outlines—usually twelve or fifteen single-spaced pages—and then the writing is relatively fast. However, this book spent a long time in revisions—longer than most of my other books. Altogether, it was probably eight to ten months.

SS: Who are some of the people that inspire you as an author?
RW: I’m inspired by a lot of people who aren’t writers. I’m inspired by my daughter, who is only thirteen, but who is the biggest storyteller I know: she spends hours a day, every afternoon, telling stories to herself. Sometimes she writes them. Sometimes she makes them into movies. But I’m always impressed with her tenacity and passion.
I also am inspired by my brother, Dan Wells, who is not only a bestselling author but also a student of the craft. Whenever we get together to brainstorm, he has formulas and models that he’s derived from other authors and screenwriters. He really thinks about what he’s doing—about the mechanics of writing. He analyzes.
I’m also inspired by one of my writing critique partners, Annette Lyon, who works twice as hard as I do, churning out books and articles in many genres and media—all of them phenomenal.

SS: Where did the inspiration for Dark Energy come from?
RW: The first part of the book that came to me was the idea of integrating an alien into a school. The scene where the aliens come to the school was actually the first chapter I wrote—and I wrote it back in 2008. I didn’t know where to go with that idea, though, so I put the book on hold for six years. I finally came back to it by free-writing a first chapter (I often find that allowing myself to be completely unrestricted in my writing gives me WAY better ideas than any brainstorming. That chapter was where I got the idea of Alice’s Navajo origins, the crashed ship, the rich family, the father/daughter dynamic, and the boarding school.

SS: If you could swap places with anyone in the world, past or present, who would it be and why?
RW: I wouldn’t want to swap places with anyone, because everyone has problems and I’ve got plenty of my own. There are, however, people I would like to meet—so maybe I can say that I want to swap places with peoples’ assistants. For example, I’d like to meet Abraham Lincoln. I’d also like to meet Napoleon, Woodward and Bernstein, Pope Francis, Adam Savage, General Patton, and many, many more.

SS: What is your idea of the perfect day?
RW: I’d spend the day with my wife and my dog. I would wake up early—I like waking up early. I would watch two episodes of “Law and Order”—I can’t get enough of “Law and Order”—while I’m eating a large breakfast: green chile breakfast burritos from El Cafecito (in Grants, NM). Then I’d go to Disneyland for the first half of the day. I don’t run around and get on all the big rides; I like to take my time—people-watching and enjoying the atmosphere. We’d eat lunch at the Blue Bayou, the restaurant inside the Pirates of the Caribbean restaurant. Then I’d go back to New Mexico, spend the afternoon wandering around Santa Fe. Finally, I’d stay the night in Mesa Verde, eating dinner at the Metate Room. (They don’t have TVs at the hotel there, so I can’t watch anymore “Law and Order”, or I would.)

SS: What does being an author mean to you?
RW: I’m not one to romanticize the profession. I know there are writers who say things like “If I couldn’t write, I couldn’t breathe” or “I was born with a pencil in my hand.” I came into the writing profession almost by accident (I never started writing until I was in college) and I hadn’t always aspired to making writing my fulltime job (in 2007 I went back to school to get an MBA in marketing). I wrote Variant on a dare, and found myself in the stunning, miraculous situation where I could afford to be an author. It’s a job—a wonderful, amazing, delightful job—but at the end of the day it’s a lot of quiet, unglamorous work. I love it, but it’s just a job. A lot of people work a lot harder for a lot less accolades. I’m very lucky.

Robison Wells is the author of Blackout, Deadzone, Variant, Feedback, Dark Energy, and Airships of Camelot. Variant was a Publishers Weekly Best Book, a YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers and a Bestseller. Robison lives in the Rocky Mountains in a house not too far from elk pastures. His wife, Erin, is a better person than he will ever be, and their three kids cause mischief and/or joy. 

Robison has an MBA in Marketing, and a BS in Political Science, with an emphasis in International Relations of the Middle East. 

Robison suffers from five mental illnesses (panic disorder, OCD, agoraphobia, depression and dermatillomania) and is an outspoken advocate for those with mental illnesses. 

His books have been published in nine different languages, and he is the winner of many awards both in and out of the United States.

Giveaway
One (1) winner will recieve a finished copy of DARK ENERGY (US Only)



Tour Schedule:

Week One:
3/21/2016- My So-Called Book ReviewsInterview
3/22/2016- NerdophilesGuest Post
3/23/2016- Once Upon A Twilight- Review
3/24/2016- Curling Up With A Good BookReview
3/25/2016- Storybook Slayers- Interview

Week Two:
3/28/2016- Literary MeanderingsReview
3/29/2016- Penny Dreadful Book ReviewsGuest Post
3/30/2016- Rachel's Book ReviewsReview
3/31/2016- Seeing Double In NeverlandInterview
4/1/2016-A Dream Within A Dream- Review