Search this blog

Monday, October 31, 2016

Review: The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid with an #ARC giveaway!

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
Publication Date: November 1, 2016
Publisher:Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
A Young Adult novel
Pages: 416
Genre: Science Fiction

A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for. 
Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe.
When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia—a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything.
As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity truer than what she encounters from most humans. Amidst all the danger, action, and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life—and the empire.
*An advanced reader's copy was provided by the publisher for an honest review*

I have not read S.J. Kincaid's previous series (even thought I own the first two books), but having The Diabloic be my first encounter with Kincaid's writing... Guys, I'm blown away. I have not been this engrossed in a novel since I read The Dregs. Holy nuggets. Fans of Illuminae and Gemina, this book is right up your alley.